MLPSC 2021 Program

January 8, 2021

8:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. GMT – “Let’s Get Going” Coffee Social 

10 a.m. ET/3 p.m. GMT – Session #1

  • Beatriz Botero Arcila, SJD Candidate, Harvard Law School, The Role of Local Government in Barcelona’s Smart City Strategy
  • Andres Calderon, Law Professor, Universidad del Pacifico, A duty to moderate (or not): A comparative consumer protection approach to intermediary liability
  • Erin Coyle, Associate Professor, Temple University (Media and Communication), Expanding Protection for Sex-Crime Complainants’ Privacy in the Twenty-First Century: A Legal Analysis of State Attempts to Shield Crime Reporters from Identification
  • Sari Mazzurco, PhD Candidate, Yale Law School, Democratizing Platform Privacy

12 p.m. ET/5 p.m. GMT – Session #2

  • Jonathan Anderson, PhD student, University of Minnesota (JMC), The Paradox of Public Records Litigation: An Empirical Analysis
  • Rodrigo Cetina Presuel, Researcher, Institute for Global Law & Policy, Harvard Law School and Executive Director, RCC at Harvard, The False Universalization of Freedom of Expression Online: How Social Media Platforms and Nation-States Reinforce Digital Colonialism by imposing Standard Interpretations on Freedom of Expression at a Global Scale
  • Amanda Reid, Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina (JMC), ISPs and Takedown Procedures for Repeat Infringers
  • Paola Ricuarte,  Professor, University Tecnologico de Monterrey (Education and Humanities), Decolonizing AI: Bridging the Epistemic Gap

3 p.m. ET/8 p.m. GMT – Session #3

  • Margaret Kwoka, Professor, University of Denver Sturm College of Law, Saving the Freedom of Information Act
  • Angela Moreno, Director, Graduate School of Law, Universidad Andres Bello, The Right to be Forgotten in the U.S. and Europe
  • Anjali Vats, Associate Professor, Boston College (Communication), Reading Prince Racially
  • Nikolas Guggenberger, Lecturer, Yale Law School, Online speech and the Attention Tragedy
  • RonNell Andersen Jones, Professor, University of Utah Law School, and Sonja R. West, Professor, University of Georgia Law School, The Supreme Court and The Press: An Empirical Analysis

5 p.m. ET/10 p.m. GMT – Session #3

  • Deborah Dwyer & Kriste Patrow, PhD students, University of North Carolina (JMC), Refocusing the Lens on Mugshot Legislation: Newsworthiness and Practical Obscurity
  • Anthony Fargo, Associate Professor, Indiana University (Media), Revisiting Vincent Blasi’s Pathological Perspective: Are We Living in the Worst of Times for the First Amendment?
  • Muira McCammon, PhD Candidate, University of Pennsylvania (Communication), One Nation Under COVID
  • Kelli Moore, Assistant Professor, New York University (Media/Culture/Comm), Information Escrows & #MeToo

6:30 p.m. ET/11:30 p.m. GMT – “See You Next Year” Coffee Social

Published by Chip Stewart

Professor of Journalism at Texas Christian University. J.D. (University of Texas), LL.M. (University of Missouri), Ph.D. (University of Missouri). Former head of the Law & Policy Division at AEJMC. Founding editor of Community Journalism. Author of "Media Law Through Science Fiction: Do Androids Dream of Electric Free Speech?" (Routledge, 2020); co-author of "The Law of Public Communication" (11th ed., Routledge, 2020); editor of "Social Media and the Law" (2nd ed., Routledge, 2017).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: